Tags

, , , , , ,

When I started my senior year of college, I needed to complete one more piece to fill my senior composition recital. I went into my first composition lesson with two ideas: one for a performance piece of just two performers sitting on stage, each holding a box with a single cricket inside, the other for a string quartet that would be different every time it was played. It wasn’t my intention when I presented those ideas that the cricket idea would make the otherwise outlandish string quartet more palatable to my composition professor, but I suspect that I wouldn’t have been able to move ahead with that project if I hadn’t come up with an even weirder alternative. The string quartet became my favorite piece to date, but the cricket idea has languished ever since.

The idea is built around an old trick used by farmers, campers, and other outdoorsy types to estimate the temperature by counting cricket chirps. As cold-blooded animals, it makes sense that their activity level would be affected by the ambient temperature, but Snopes has a pretty good article on the subject, for those of you who don’t want to take my word for it.  Anyway, as I was falling asleep one night in the summer of 2009, I could hear two crickets from my window, their slightly different chirping rates generating a complex polyrhythmic pattern.  It occurred to me that what I was hearing were microclimates, small areas that differ in climate from the surrounding area.  In this case, proximity to our warm brick house or a cool, mossy patch of soil may have altered the crickets’ body temperatures ever so slightly, changing their rates of chirping.  The temperatures weren’t very different, and in fact, the less different the two rhythmic rates are, the more complex the polyrhythm.  I thought this was a fascinating phenomenon, and set to trying to figure out how to use it in a piece.

My concept left the concept of microclimates and the idea of cricket chirping rates relatively unadorned: in a performance of the piece, two performers would sit on stage, each holding a box containing a single cricket. Hopefully, their slight differences in the body temperatures of the performers would effect the chirping rates of the crickets, creating a complex polyrhythm that might even change throughout the performance of the piece. I say might because I don’t know — the piece never really left the planning stages, but that hasn’t stopped me from planning it to death.

I had tinkered with the idea of soundproof boxes and using microphones, but it turns out that, as a general rule, if something doesn’t transmit sound efficiently, it also won’t transmit temperature changes efficiently. I decided, then, to use thin aluminum boxes that would allow both temperature changes and sound to pass through relatively unfettered. This simplified one aspect of the piece, removing an electronic component, but it added a question of how to start and stop the piece; if there’s no mic to turn on or off, how do you start and stop the sound?

My answer was that the aluminum boxes should be carried on and off stage in larger, soundproof boxes. The piece would begin when the performers removed the aluminum boxes from their containers, and would end when they returned them. I initially conceived of making those boxes out of whatever dense wood I could get my hands on. Serendipitously, as I was returning to this idea at the end of the summer, I discovered that my new job has a pretty impressive wood shop, and more than a few skilled woodworkers willing and excited to help me with whatever projects I could come up with. I immediately set to drafting plans for the wooden boxes, which you can see here. Of course, I don’t have drafting software, so those plans were actually made in Word, which I think is hilarious.

After finishing these plans, one of my handy coworkers suggested that the best material would actually be vinyl decking material, which is super dense and super cheap. The only issue: it won’t take adhesives, so my biscuted and glued design wouldn’t work.  It was back to the drawing board, which is where the project stalled out. I still plan on completing this project, which is unusual for Sharing Something, but it has still been a good long time since I’ve made any effort to do so. There are all kinds of excuses, but I just need to start doing it if I want to get it done. Hopefully, posting the idea here will get me motivated again.